top of page

Don't force Gods hand through prayer


I was reading through some prayer requests at a Christian forum and remember a time when I "forced" Gods hand. Now granted you can not really force God to do anything but IT was a time in my life that I did not accept the your will be done for my prayers. I was married at the time to a man who cheated on me. I was upset and wanted him back. I could not accept the fact that maybe just maybe God was doing me a favor by letting him be interested in someone else. I literally called every single church in town and asked them to pray for the return of my husband. I was young had three small children and was not willing to go it alone. The verse I had in mind was this:

Matthew 18

19"Again I say to you, that if two of you agree on earth about anything that they may ask, it shall be done for them by My Father who is in heaven. 20"For where two or three have gathered together in My name, I am there in their midst."

Now I can tell you honestly that I did get my husband back. But at a great cost. I found out some terrible things about my husband and got drunk over them. Again not a smart move. To make a long story short I ended up in treatment and while I was there he left them alone on several occasions and my kids were taken away from him. I ended up losing them for almost two years to their real father. IT was a terrible time in my life. But it taught me some valuable lessons. Sometimes you are better off with out someone in your life who is unfaithful. Sometimes God allows problems and takes things or people away to replace them with something better. It taught me to trust God like I never had before. I did not trust God enough back then to help me through my problems. Like with everything I learned that God can use any horrible situation for good. I learned to trust in God. I learned to accept the fact that I was a lesbian and I finally started getting help to control my drinking. I did get my kids back and did meet my first wife.

I am sure that there will be those that disagree with my assessment however I did learn to always add thy will be done oh Lord not mine.

Romans 8

28And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page