top of page

Yes sometimes it is hard


Sometimes the Christian walk can be hard. I won't lie about that part. It goes against our natures to be loving, patient, gentile and humble. IT is so much easier to give into our sinful nature. I struggle with this myself. I can be quick to judge and quick to lose my temper. Yet I am also sometimes afraid to ask for help with these things as it seems like if I do God puts more things in my path that are irritating and easy to judge. But that is how we learn and grow is through problems and practice. If God did not love me He would spoil me rotten. Now that might seem like a good thing but is it? Would you really want to go through life having it easy all the time? Have you ever met someone who was spoiled rotten as a kid? I have, they are selfish to the extreme and demand their way all the time and get very angry if they do not get it. So problems and frustrating situations are necessary for growth. It is not pleasant but necessary. It talks about God disciplining those He loves in three different places:

Hebrews 12

God Disciplines His Sons …5and you have forgotten the exhortation which is addressed to you as sons, "MY SON, DO NOT REGARD LIGHTLY THE DISCIPLINE OF THE LORD, NOR FAINT WHEN YOU ARE REPROVED BY HIM; 6FOR THOSE WHOM THE LORD LOVES HE DISCIPLINES, AND HE SCOURGES EVERY SON WHOM HE RECEIVES." 7It is for discipline that you endure; God deals with you as with sons; for what son is there whom his father does not discipline?

Proverbs 3

Trust in the Lord …11My son, do not reject the discipline of the LORD Or loathe His reproof, 12For whom the LORD loves He reproves, Even as a father corrects the son in whom he delights.

Revelation 3

19'Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline; therefore be zealous and repent. 20'Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will dine with him, and he with Me.

I find the most trying times to be with either my own children or witnessing online. There never seems to fail to be some Christian who thinks I am not impressing enough upon other glbt's how sinful they are. I get annoyed as I do not consider being gay sinful. I do consider any sexual activity outside of a loving committed relationship sinful however. So many times I have gotten other well meaning but painfully judgmental Christians upset when I say I am a celibate lesbian. They insist that I declare myself not a lesbian. I can tell them until I am blue in the face that I am not now heterosexual I am a lesbian who chooses not to have sex. They hate the words so much that even though I am not sinning sexually I must be doing something wrong because I won't stop labeling myself a lesbian.

My kids of course know me better then anyone and as such no which buttons to push. They provide all kinds of opportunities to practice patience because they are not children any more.

Many times in both situations I found myself getting angry and losing it. Then I have the unpleasant task of removing what I said or apologizing. Neither of which is much fun. It would be so nice if I could consistently be loving, gentile and humble even in my anger. Thank God that HE forgives me when I do mess up. So yes the Christian walk can be hard but it is so much better then being that person I was in the past.

I leave you with this passage as it is some things a person needs to do to stop sinning and a call to wake up.

Romans 13

11 And do this, understanding the present time: The hour has already come for you to wake up from your slumber, because our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed. 12 The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light. 13 Let us behave decently, as in the daytime, not in carousing and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and debauchery, not in dissension and jealousy. 14 Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the flesh.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page